Muskingum Valley Educational Service Center and the Ohio ESC Association to Recognize Ohio’s Top Scholars

Columbus, Ohio – On Tuesday, May 3, 2022, the Ohio Educational Service Center Association (OESCA) will recognize Ohio’s top students from across the state during the 33rd Annual Franklin B. Walter All-Scholastic Awards Program.

The Franklin B. Walter Award recipient for the Muskingum Valley ESC is Kierston Harper, a senior from Philo High School in the Franklin Local School District. Kierston is the daughter of Jeremy and Heidi Harper of Zanesville. The Muskingum Valley ESC recognized 16 district winners in March at an awards event at Secrest Auditorium, and a committee chose Kierston as the ESC’s representative to be recognized at the statewide event. Harper plans to attend a college or university and major in Biology/Pre-Medicine.

This year’s student-centered event will be held both in-person and virtually through two-way interactive video and live streamed on the Association’s YouTube Channel.

The awards program, named in honor of Ohio’s 31st State Superintendent of Public Instruction, Franklin B. Walter, was established in 1989 by OESCA to promote and recognize outstanding student leaders for their academic achievement and service to their schools and communities. One senior from each county in Ohio was eligible to receive this annual honor with the top 51 students from each of Ohio’s ESCs selected to attend the statewide event.  The event will be held at the Nationwide Hotel and Conference Center in Lewis Center, Ohio, following the Ohio ESC Association’s annual Spring meeting.

Eligible applicants must be a high school senior enrolled in a public school within an ESC’s service region. Recipients were required to demonstrate outstanding academic achievement and community service as indicated by high school grades, test scores, school and community activities and awards.

“In order to achieve this level of success, these students have demonstrated bold leadership, resilience and grit,” stated Craig Burford, Executive Director of OESCA. Over the past 33 years, OESCA has recognized over 2,600 scholars and student leaders during this event. “Ohio’s ESCs have over a century of service in providing technical assistance and support to Ohio’s schools and students, and during this event we get to see the impact of that work,” added Burford. “We look forward to our continued partnership with school district leadership and state policymakers to ensuring students have the tools and resources necessary to succeed regardless of where they live and attend school.”

Related Articles