Local Educator Receives Advocate of Education Hall of Fame Award

ZANESVILLE, Ohio – Diane L. Jones of Zanesville was recently presented the 2022 Advocate of Education Hall of Fame Award in the Southeast Region of the Ohio School Boards Association. The award is the highest level of recognition in the Southeast Region. The region executive committee selects an individual, business or corporation that has roots in the Southeast Region and has gone above and beyond in advocating for children and public education in the region and across the state. Jones received the award in Nelsonville at the Ohio School Boards Association Southeast Region Fall Conference.

Jones began her classroom teaching career at West Muskingum Local School and served in various administrative roles at Franklin Local Schools, Zanesville City Schools and Muskingum Valley ESC. Upon her retirement, she continues to serve as an education consultant with the Muskingum Valley ESC. In partnership with Dr. Barbara A. Hansen, she developed the Appalachian P-20 Council, a collaborative of business, industry, education, government and philanthropy committed to improving the lives of students who live in the Southeast Region.

Jones earned her bachelor’s degree in Elementary Education from Ohio University. She received her master’s degree in Early and Middle Childhood Education, an administrative certification from Ohio State University and assistant superintendent’s certification from Ashland University.

Diane L. Jones of Zanesville recently received the 2022 Advocate of Education Hall of Fame Award in the Southeast Region of the Ohio School Boards Association. Pictured from left are Danielle Devoll, MVESC Treasurer; Dr. Barbara Hansen, MVESC Board Member; Adam Copeland, MVESC Director of Operations; Diane L. Jones; Michael Smith, MVESC Board President; Ed Penrod, MVESC Board Vice President; and Larry Good, MVESC Board Member.

Related Articles

MVESC December Governing Board Meeting

The Muskingum Valley Educational Service Center Governing Board will hold its regular December board meeting, Monday, Dec. 5, 2022, at 7:00 PM at its offices located at 205 N. Seventh Street, Zanesville. The meeting is open to the public.  Please contact...

read more