Legislator, Educator Recognized by the Ohio Educational Service Center Association

State Representative Don Jones and long-time educator Dr. Jim Mahoney recently were recognized during the 36th Annual Ohio ESC Association Awards event in Columbus, Nov. 14. The Muskingum Valley ESC (MVESC) nominated both award winners.

Representative Jones garnered the Legislative Leadership Award. It honors legislators and legislative support staff who have provided outstanding public service and legislative support for Educational Service Centers and public education in the state of Ohio. The MVESC’s nomination stated, “State Representative Don Jones has been instrumental in assisting the ESC with its newest program initiative. His efforts to decrease barriers and enhance the working relationship between state agencies and ESC’s have been a huge asset. Representative Jones truly has an outstanding work ethic and as a former teacher, has a compassionate understanding of our work to help every child succeed.”

Dr. Jim Mahoney earned the Lifetime Achievement Award. To be considered for the award, nominees must be or have been ESC superintendents, treasurers, board members, state/national legislators, local/state educators, and professional staff with a minimum of twelve years of demonstrated service to educational service centers and public education. His nomination highlights his many years as an educator and his continued work as a public speaker and author. “Dr. Jim Mahoney’s contributions to public education in Ohio are too numerous to count. As a former teacher, principal, school district superintendent and Muskingum Valley ESC superintendent, he has inspired many educators and students throughout his life to follow their dreams and truly make a difference in the world. Dr. Mahoney continues to motivate, encourage and inspire today through his book and his speaking engagements. This amazing, passionate and committed educator advocates for all children in Ohio to have outstanding opportunities for success.”

MVESC Board members and staff pictured with OESCA award recipients State Representative Don Jones and Dr. Jim Mahoney. Pictured (L-R): MVESC Board President Michael Smith, MVESC Treasurer Danielle Devoll, MVESC Director of Operations Adam Copeland, MVESC Board Vice President Ed Penrod, State Representative Don Jones, Dr. Jim Mahoney, MVESC Superintendent Lori Snyder-Lowe, and MVESC Board member Larry Good.

Related Articles