Approximately 60 Students and Educators Recognized During Awards Night Event

ZANESVILLE, Ohio — Nearly 60 outstanding students and teachers were honored by the Muskingum Valley Educational Service Center (MVESC) at their Annual Awards Night held March 6 at Secrest Auditorium in Zanesville. These exceptional teachers and students from throughout Southeast Ohio were recognized for their exceptional commitment, dedication, and passion for education. More than 200 students, educators, family members, and friends attended the event to celebrate the award recipients’ achievements. At the event, the Franklin B. Walter All-Scholastic Awards, Exemplary Educator Awards, Susan Writing Awards, and Outstanding Senior and Teacher Awards were presented.

John Stamper, Coshocton City

Ashton Mason, Logan-Hocking Schools

Gianna Ewert, West Muskingum Local









Katie Franklin, Caldwell EVSD

Mason Pyle, New Lexington

Jaidyn Peoples, Newcomerstown EVSD









MVESC Superintendent Lori Snyder-Lowe stated, “This event is the highlight of the year for the MVESC. It is our chance to celebrate the amazing achievements of exemplary educators and remarkable students each year.”

The Franklin B. Walter All-Scholastic Awards are named after former Ohio Superintendent of Public Instruction Franklin B. Walter. Each of the 13 districts in the Muskingum Valley service region nominated one senior based on their outstanding academic achievement, community service, and leadership abilities. A panel of judges then selected one county winner who received a $500 scholarship. County award winners are John Stamper, Coshocton City Schools; Ashton Mason, Logan-Hocking Schools; Gianna Ewert, West Muskingum Local Schools; Katie Franklin, Caldwell Exempted Village Schools; Mason Pyle, New Lexington Schools; and Jaydyn Peoples, Newcomerstown Local Schools.

Park National Bank provided scholarship awards for county winners in Coshocton, Hocking, Muskingum, and Tuscarawas counties. The Community Bank sponsored the Perry County scholarship. The MVESC provides the scholarship for Noble County.

Additionally, five students received the Susan Writing Awards and $1,000 scholarships from the Susan Mahoney Writing Scholarship Fund. The 2023 scholarship recipients are Roman Gallitz, John Glenn High School; Isabella Moore, Ridgewood High School; Bailey Ryan, West Muskingum High School; Raya Taylor, John Glenn High School; and Madison Wilkin, Ridgewood High School. The Susan Writing Award was created to memorialize the tremendous writing talent of Susan Elizabeth Mahoney. Susan was the daughter of Jim and Judy Mahoney. Susan passed away during her sophomore year at John Glenn High School. Seniors from high schools in Coshocton and Muskingum counties annually provide writing samples and apply for the scholarship award.

Click here to see a complete list of award recipients by county.

Related Articles

LEGAL NOTICE Classroom Renovations- Maysville Center

Maysville Center Project: The Muskingum Valley Educational Service Center is seeking bids from eligible bidders for the renovation of classroom space at the Maysville Center. The project is for the renovation of the Maysville Center, 2929 Maysville Pike, Zanesville,...

read more

MVESC Governing Board to Hold June Meeting

The Muskingum Valley ESC Governing Board will hold its regular June meeting at 7:00 p.m., Monday, June 10, 2024. The meeting will be held at the MVESC Zanesville office, 205 N. Seventh Street, Zanesville, and is open to the public. Contact Lori Snyder-Lowe,...

read more