MVESC Awards Six Students with Franklin B. Walter Scholarships

ZANESVILLE, Ohio - March 13, 2019 - The Muskingum Valley Educational Service Center (MVESC) recently honored the Franklin B. Walter All-Scholastic Award finalists from each of the 15 school districts in Coshocton, Hocking, Morgan, Muskingum and Perry counties and the Newcomerstown Exempted Village School District at the 30th Annual Student and Teacher Recognition Ceremony at Ohio University-Zanesville.

The county winners and generous donors of their $500 scholarships were:

  • Coshocton County - Josie Fornara, River View High School - Century National Bank
  • Hocking County - Carter Krannitz, Logan High School - Century National Bank
  • Morgan County - Deric Nesselroad, Morgan High School - Henery Family Scholarship
  • Muskingum County - Janessa Dawson, Tri-Valley High School - Century National Bank
  • Perry County - Katelyn Baughman, Crooksville High School - The Community Bank
  • Tuscarawas County - Sarah Romer, Newcomerstown High School - Newcomerstown Scholarship Foundation

The other finalists for the awards were Griffin Mason, Coshocton High School; Jordan Price, John Glenn High School; Clarice Hague, Maysville High School; Megan Nutter, New Lexington High School; Trey Lutz, Philo High School; Raquel Foster, Ridgewood High School; Summer Short, Sheridan High School; Hannah Mayle, West Muskingum High School; and Paige Jackson, Zanesville High School.

The nominees for the Franklin B. Walter All-Scholastic Award are high school seniors who have demonstrated outstanding academic achievement and participation in extracurricular and community activities.  The award is named after former Ohio Superintendent of Public Instruction Franklin B Walter.

Griffin Mason, Finalist - Coshocton High School