29th Annual Student /Teacher Recognition Ceremony

Muskingum Valley ESC proudly honored students in three categories during the 29th Annual Student Awards Ceremony held at Ohio University-Zanesville.

  1. Five area seniors received $1,000 Susan E. Mahoney writing scholarships for their outstanding promise and talent for creative writing.
  2. One high school senior from each of MVESC's five counties and Newcomerstown Exempted Village Schools received a $500 scholarship from local sponsors for their exemplary academic achievement. County finalists, when applicable, also were honored at the event.
  3. Outstanding seniors from MVESC's 15 local school districts and two career centers were recognized for their school and community leadership activities. Those students then selected one teacher who served as a motivating influence during their educational careers for special recognition, as well.

Susan E. Mahoney $1,000 Writing Award Winner

Emily Dietz, Maysville High School







Special thanks to the
Mahoney family for the
$1,000 Susan E. Mahoney Writing Award Scholarships


Special thanks to our $500 scholarship sponsors by county:


Coshocton, Hocking, Muskingum counties
Century National Bank


Morgan County
The Foundation for Appalachian Ohio


Newcomerstown Exempted Village Schools

The HOPE Brigade

Perry County
The Community Bank