Perry County Public Preschool Program

Early Childhood Classrooms

The Perry County Preschool program currently operates 10 preschool classrooms in Perry County. Children ages three to five years old (must be 3 and not older than 5 by August 1), are eligible to attend from the following districts:

  • Crooksville Exempted Village Schools
  • New Lexington Local Schools
  • Northern Local Schools

The program has adopted the Creative Curriculum, which offers comprehensive services that align with the Ohio Department of Education (ODE) Early Learning Content Standards. A careful balance of both child-initiated and teacher-led activities will occur each day to prepare each child for success in kindergarten. 

Children receive age and developmentally appropriate experiences two full days a week - either Tuesday/Thursday or Wednesday/Friday - from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Tuition is based on a sliding-fee scale, and preschool is free for some families that qualify.

Additional Fast Facts:

  • Breakfast and snacks are provided.
  • Hot lunches and transportation are available through the school districts.
  • ODE's Office of Early Learning and School Readiness monitors the program.
  • Each child's progress is assessed through various means. Certain assessments are required by ODE.
  • Each child's progress is shared through Parent-Teacher Conferences held in the fall and spring.

For more information, contact Lisa Gormley, Preschool Supervisor, at 740-343-0680 or